Our Lady of the Sacred Heart High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu Toggle

OLSH Carson Scholars Participate in Awards Banquet

By: Katelyn Miller '26

OLSH is no stranger to the Carson Scholars Banquet, having students recognized annually for achievements inside the classroom and within the community. This year, OLSH had 5 recognized scholars: Adriana Valvo ‘25 (a 2-time Scholar), Mark Laderer ‘26 (a 2-time Scholar), Katelyn Miller ‘26 (a 3-time Scholar), Abigail Robinson ‘26 (a 3-time Scholar), Thomas Moses III ‘25 (a 5-time Scholar), and Meghan Cavender ‘24 (a 6-time Scholar).

The 2024 scholarship banquet was held at Acrisure Stadium on April 8th. Becoming a Carson Scholar requires hard work and dedication, and Scholars continue to do well in school and serve their communities after winning their first award.

This year, OLSH was fortunate enough to have two of our Recognized Scholars participate in the banquet in a special way. Mark Laderer gave a wonderful blessing before the crowd. Prayer is an important part of who we are at OLSH, and it’s truly amazing that he got to say it. Katelyn Miller got to introduce Dr. Ben Carson. She talked about how incredible Dr. Carson is and how all of the Carson Scholars are grateful for him making the Carson Scholars Fund possible. This is truly a wonderful accomplishment. Keep up the good work, Carson Scholars!

Carson Scholars Fund, Inc. is a nonprofit organization founded in 1994 by world renowned pediatric neurosurgeon Dr. Ben Carson and his wife, Candy. The CSF scholarship program awards students who have embraced high levels of academic excellence and community service with $1,000 college scholarships.