Our Lady of the Sacred Heart High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu Toggle

Students Recognized at Honors Convocation & Assembly

Academic achievement, significant service, and active witness to their faith are among the topics recognized at the annual OLSH Honors Convocation. The event, held last night in the OLSH auditorium, recognized 79 OLSH students in all four grade levels for various accomplishments over the past year. Faculty members honor students in each of their courses, special OLSH awards and scholarships are given, and seniors are recognized for college scholarship offers.

Top academic awards given on Monday night include:

OLSH Salutatorian Rachel Kuchnicki and Valedictorian Daniel ShawValedictorian - Daniel Shaw '17

Salutatorian - Rachel Kuchnicki '17

Top 10 Seniors - Hannah Feldhues, Caroline Jones, Daniel Joyce, Jessica Kerecman, Jonathan Kim, Rachel Kuchnicki, Maria Lohmann, Aesling McCullough, Luke Rattay, Daniel Shaw

Highest Academic Class Average - Francesca Taylor '20, Krista Kim '19, Alexis Moskala '18

Scholar-Athletes of the Year - Aesling McCullough '17 and Siegfried Luke Saftner '19


OLSH also recognizes the senior who has logged the most service hours over four years. The Spirit of Caring Award was given to Jonathan Kim '17. The Blessed Angela Award, one of OLSH's most prestigious awards, was given to Christopher DeSalle '17. The Blessed Angela Award is given to a senior who most exhibits the spirit of Blessed Angela and the charism of the Felician Sisters.

On Tuesday afternoon the student body gathered in the AAC for the annual Honors Assembly, recognizing students for achievements in extracurricular activities and athletics.

The Class of 2017 were the winners of both the Academic Challenge and Intramurals this year. The Class of 2020 was the winners of the Spirit Points for this year.Each year the head coaches vote for the Male and Female Athletes of the Year for OLSH. This year, freshman Haley Hamilton, who ran cross country and track and played girls basketball, was named Female Athlete of the Year. Haley recently took 4th place in the 1600 meter race at the WPIAL Championships and is headed to PIAA Championships in that race and as part of the girls' 4×8 and 4×4 relay teams. This year's Male Athlete of the Year is senior Matt Schnarre. Matt is a member of the football and track & field teams. Matt was selected as an All-Star by the MAC Coaches and will participate in the Penn/Ohio All-Star game on June 29 at Geneva College. Two other OLSH players - Markus Jenkins and Weston Roberts - will also play in the game.

Several other activities and clubs gave awards, including recognition of students with Perfect Attendance, significant numbers of service hours, and participation in theater, forensics, art, media, chess club, student government & spirit committee, media, Middle States, the OWL Center, Eagle Scouts, and social studies.