Our Lady of the Sacred Heart High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu Toggle

OLSH Wins Two Prime Stage Theatre Awards

The 4th annual Prime Stage High School Drama Awards took place at the New Hazlett Theatre on the evening of Monday, January 29. Twelve talented high schools from Allegheny County and the five surrounding counties signed on to participate in the event, and competed against each other in 16 awards categories for both on-stage and backstage positions for their fall 2023 productions. OLSH received nine nominations for its October production of We are the Sea, and ultimately took home awards for Best Costume Design and Best Makeup Design and/or Application!

The costume & makeup team for We are the Sea consisted of sophomores Kayleigh Scialabba-Meehan, Zoe Vesci, and Marena Miller, along with freshman Katy Ondercin. As head of costuming, Kayleigh worked together with her team during study halls in school to sketch and create costume designs. They organized their costume pieces using charts and labels. “It took us many hours and much time to put our ideas together and make them work, but eventually, in the end, we did it. This whole experience has been wonderful and I am so grateful for the opportunity,” said Kayleigh.

Zoe worked hard to make their costume designs come to life. “Designing the costumes was a challenge. To make costumes for beings who aren’t meant to be human at all can take a lot of creativity.” Zoe used dark and edgy elements to help fit with the sad theme of the show, using gray spray paint to dull the too-bright costumes, and tearing the fabric to give it a tattered look. 

Marena not only helped to curate the costumes, but she also was the head of makeup design for the show. “I loved designing and applying the makeup for We Are The Sea,” she shared. “It was such a fun experience where I really got to let my creativity shine through something I love to do so much - theater!”


In addition to winning these two awards, OLSH Theatre was also nominated for:

Leo Matthews (Rogue Wave) - Best Supporting Actor

Eva Lowder - Best Student Director

Bridget Fogle & Isaac Jones - Best Student Scenic Design and/or Fabrication

Claire Bandura & Samantha Lang - Best Student Lighting Design and/or Operation 

Jordan Jones & Sean Mutschler - Best Student Prop Design and/or Fabrication 

Nick Ewanco - Best Student Sound Design and/or Operation

Sophia Muoio & Kevin Leslie - Best Student Program/Poster Design and/or Fabrication

The theatre department is currently hard at work preparing for the Spring Musical, Oklahoma!, which will be performed during the first two weekends in March. Tickets go on sale soon!