National Honor Society Inducts New Members

May 02, 2017 | Posted in Articles

NHS members recite the NHS pledge.

On Sunday, April 30, the OLSH Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 18 new members. Members of OLSH's National Honor Society are expected to uphold the four pillars of NHS - Scholarship, Character, Service, and Leadership. Students must maintain a GPA of at least 3.75, a conduct grade of at least 93 each semester, and perform service to the school and the community. NHS members also serve as peer tutors in the OWL Center.

Outgoing vice president Rose Stock shares a reflection on Service with the audience.

NHS moderator, Ms. Kelly Mullen emceed the ceremony, which began with Mass in the OLSH Chapel, celebrated by Fr. Michael Ackerman. OLSH president Terry O'Rourke Donoghue and principal Tim Plocinik each gave remarks to the audience of students and parents. The current NHS officers - Christopher DeSalle (president), Rose Stock (vice president), Holly Taylor (secretary), and Rachel Kuchnicki (treasurer) - shared reflections on the four pillars of NHS. The new members were inducted, seniors were given stoles for graduation, and the new officers were inducted. New officers are Emily Halbedl (president), Christina Trocchio (vice president), Jennifer Falgione (secretary), and Alexis Moskala (treasurer). Attendees enjoyed a reception after the ceremony.

NHS seniors pose together for a group photo.